Home / Yoga / Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga is a modern yoga style. It contains gymnastic and stretching exercises combined with yoga breathing. Firstly, Ashtanga Yoga is known as a physically demanding practice, which is not recommended for beginners. It contains poses that heats the body and helps it to get rid of all the toxins.

ashtanga yogaAshtanga Yoga

Ashtanga Yoga was discovered and transmitted by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. This Yoga style is very popular because demanding physical practice produces a huge amount of heat in the body. Due to the heat, the body starts to sweat intensely. This is how the body starts to detoxify and purify itself.

The term “ashtanga” means “eight-limbed”, which refers to the eight limbs of yoga described in the Yoga Sutras. These eight limbs are: Yama, Niyama, Asanas, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dhyana, Dharma and Samadhi.

This amazing yoga style contains different Vinyasa Yoga series called Suryanamaskaras, standing sequences, primary series and finishing sequences. The hard and demanding poses, combined with the yoga breathing offer stretching and work out for the whole body.

Ashtanga Yoga is the best choice if you already know what is yoga and you need a serious workout. It contains gymnastic exercises that improve your strength, stamina and flexibility. It has some amazing flows of jumping from a posture to another in a very short period of time.

The two most important things for this yoga style are the Ujjayi breathing and the vinyasa flows. It is based on six important important series of postures that are increasing in difficulty.

Ashtanga Yoga tips:

Practice as often as you can. It has many gymnastic postures, that you need a lifetime to learn to do properly. Have patience and practice a lot.

Breath – breathing is very important for this yoga style. Don’t forget to breath and to move with your breath.

Learn the series – If you want to properly practice ashtanga, you have to learn the primary series. This way you will not have to stop to remember a posture and you will not interrupt the flow.

Dhristi – it represents your gaze, where you are looking. Every pose has a focus point where you have to look.

Tristasana – it is the state when all three aspects of Ashtanga Yoga come together (breath, poses, dhristi). You have to practice as long as you learn the poses, move with the breath and respect every focusing point.

These are the bases you have to know before you start a Ashtanga class. Get used to the sweating and let those toxins out with the intense workout this yoga class offers you. Enjoy!

Check Also

Is Yoga Good After Back Surgery

Is Yoga Good After Back Surgery?

Is Yoga Good After Back Surgery? Is Yoga Good After Back Surgery? – Many people …

Yoga For Migraines

Yoga For Migraines

Yoga For Migraines Yoga For Migraines – Many people suffer from migraines world widely. The …

Yoga Alcohol Recovery

Yoga Alcohol Recovery

Yoga Alcohol Recovery Yoga Alcohol Recovery – It is incredibly hard to recover from an …